Accept 4-144: Services to be Outside

Status
Not open for further replies.

kwired

Electron manager
If it was customer controlled we would be talking about feeders not service conductors.

I have no experience with indoor utility / transformer vaults. When I say install in vault I may be using term that sets minds differently from what I am thinking.

I am talking about a room that surrounded by 2 inches of concrete or other equivelant and probably a 2 hour door. It may not be that practical vs just putting the service equipment in an outdoor location if that becomes the requirement. But I would sure think it should be an option if the requirement requires the service equipment outside the building. Is no different than the fact we can currently encase service conductor raceways in concrete and consider them outside building. It probably will create other headaches like what penetrations are acceptable to leave the vault to supply the structure?

T

T.M.Haja Sahib

I vote for placing the disconnector outside because the service leads up to the disconnector are not provided with any fuse protection upstream and so any short circuit in them inside the disconnector can result in a fire.

Joethemechanic

Occupation
Electro-Mechanical Technician. Industrial machinery
Probably the most common arc flash incident energy mitigation method I see, is to have a protective device 'remote' from the main service equipment.

But, what do we do when the utility transformer is inside an 'indoor vault'?

My first thought exactly

sgreany

I can see the point of a fireman entering a building and wanting a redily accesible means to disconnect energy sources to remove potential hazzards. How about we develop a meter with a disconnecting means that requires a special device that allows autherized personel to disconnect electrical sources . This would also solve the issue of metering personel having to install meters under load.

kwired

Electron manager