Addition Pricing

Status
Not open for further replies.

jemsvcs

Basically just putting this out there for some input to see what others think about this:

Got a call from a GC (who I have never worked for before) and he wanted a price to wire a 1200 sq. ft. addition he had already framed out. Went and looked at the job, talked it over as to what the owner was wanting, and worked up a quote.

I quoted him approx. $3,700. In addition to the typical code minimum stuff, the job included setting a 100A subpanel, two bathrooms, one bedroom, four additional phone jacks, and four additional sattelite outlets.

So, the GC tells me i'm too high. I mean I don't think i'm way off the mark for this area (Ohio) as compared to other parts of the country, but I thought I was giving him a good price.

I'm curious as to what others would get in there areas for similar work.

Thanks,
Jemsvcs

[ January 28, 2005, 05:19 PM: Message edited by: jemsvcs ]

bphgravity

Re: Addition Pricing

This is what I do. It works for both new construction and large remodel/addition jobs. In Florida, in order to pull a permit for a job, a total cost to build and the sale price must be supplied to the building department. This is generally public information. If you are listed on a subcontractor sheet for that builder, you can receive copies of the permitting information.

I quote a price of between 4% and 7% of the total build cost or new home cost. For example, the typical home in SW Florida goes for around $200,000. I will quote a price generally at 6% of that price. In my opinion if the electrical wiring and equipment installation on your project is not worth 4-7% of the total bill, I don't want the work.

In some areas and some custom work, up to 10% would be considered.

jimwalker