Advice

Status
Not open for further replies.

FP1873

Hello All,

As a long time reader of these forums, I have learned much from all of you. Thank you.

I have been a licensed contractor for 4 years, much less time than many of you out there, and until now, I have never posted or requested information for something specific like this. I thank you all, in advance for your input. Here goes:

Over the last year we have been working on chain "high-end" convenience stores, installing the low-voltage systems. We have been given drawings by the customer, which we have used to apply for permits-successfully in about 25-30 locations spanning most of FL, Until now.

I know that the "diversity" of AHJ requirements can be tricky, but in this particular situation, the words "money-grab" immediately come to mind. The AHJ has rejected our submittal package 3 times now, with the third time costing us a double permit fee. We work in some very demanding jurisdictions including Miami-Dade, Collier, etc. and we have successfully used this submittal package in all of them. In this case, each time we have provided what he wants, this reviewer has provided a new laundry list of different "codes/requirements" that I feel should have been mentioned in the first rejection punch list. This has incensed our customer and we are holding up the job.

Now my question: Has anyone out there ever appealed this type of situation to the next level? If so, I would truly appreciate your knowledge on how this is done procedurally, and what options I have.

I am concerned that I will lose this account because of this issue.

__dan

There is no question that there exists some people in positions of power who have less than noble intentions and are genetically lacking in certain qualities that you would expect a civilized person to have. There is a basic assumption of honestly, a duty to not injure arbitrarily, that each will be treated equally, that the law will be followed.