AFCI and old homes

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello all,
I'm a nine year Master Electrician and I have run into a situation here in Florida that I need a little help with. The problem is that insurance companies here have stopped issuing policies for homes over 50 years old due possible electrical wire insulation problems. Even with an electrical inspection report with a conductor insulation rating of "in good condition", unless a AFCI protective system is installed for all feeder conductors. I can not currently find any 60A or 100A two-pole AFCI breakers available. Keep in mind that most residences use a meter-base as it's service main and most 240V appliances and subpanels are feed from the meter-base.
Is there any help available for elevating this problem?

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager
Re: AFCI and old homes

Even with an electrical inspection report with a conductor insulation rating of "in good condition", unless a AFCI protective system is installed for all feeder conductors.
What insurance company is requiring this? Is this in writing? I believe 15's and 20's are all that are being produced at this point. AFCI's are a questionable technology at this point in time, I find it hard to believe that an electrical professional would recommend that their insurer clients require this.

templdl

Interesting.
I always was of the belief that if insurance companies started to recognize a benefit from the AFCI that the AFCI would be taken more seriously and such technology wouldn't be questioned as much as it has been.
Insurance companies are big on statistics so if they are discontinuing issuing policies for homes over 50 years old w/0 AFCI protection it would certainly be interesting to see so statistical studies that support that policy. Because if they don't have documentation it would make one concluded that they are discriminating.
Dave

stud696981