AFCI compatability w/shared neutral feeds?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ctroyp

If I were to run a 14-3 to feed two bedrooms, respectively, will the arc faults operate appropriately? It is my understanding that the arc fault monitors the current on both the hot wire and the neutral for each circuit; if it doesn't read the same amount of current returning on the neutral as fed through the hot wire, it will trip--assuming an arc in the circuit. So with a 3-wire feed, won't there be a problem with the arc fault detectors functionality? This tells me, no more feeds with shared neutrals when wiring bedrooms...

G

Re: AFCI compatability w/shared neutral feeds?

I have no first hand experience with AFCI's yet. My experience is dated, dusty, and rusty. I am here dusting things off while I get my legs back after a workplace injury. Here is something to chew on while you await your final word:
Google search for shared+neutral+arc+fault+circuit

The quick answer is an AFCI will fail on a shared neutral circuit. I will check back for the final word.

../Wayne

afci_c5.gif

Image property of: www.zlan.com
manufacturer of self-testing AFCI circuit breakers.

[ September 05, 2003, 10:22 PM: Message edited by: awwt ]

iwire

Staff member

Waynes correct AFCI breakers can not share the grounded conductor, no more than a GFCI breaker can.

I have heard that there is NM available with two whites, black and red for use with AFCIs.

Maybe someone can provide some more info on the NM.

mikeholz2

Yes, I have purchased a 2 pole AFCI made by General Electric. We used it during a service panel replacement job where the two bedrooms had previously been rewired with one 12-3 as a shared neutral circuit. That AFCI cost us $89. Wow!

Mike

russellroberts

I've used the cable iwire describes. It does indeed have a red,black,white,white with a white stripe,and bare egc. I believe southwire calls theirs 12-4wg, and some I've seen is called 12-2-2.