AFCI Woes

Status
Not open for further replies.

sparky_magoo

I made up a panel today and realized a huge mistake. From the panel, I have conduits run under the slab, to junction points.

I have a conduit to the master bath which terminates in a 3 gang masonary switch box. I ran a multi-wire ckt. to this box to power the master bedroom receptacles and the master bath GFI ckt. My question is, how can I possibly power an AFCI breaker for the master bedroom ckt. with a shared nuetral on the master bath GFI ckt. The owner of my company told me to do it this way, but I feel it is my responsibiliy to detedt any incompetance and correct it before any wire is pulled.

Can I make this ckt. work? Wouldn't unbalanced current from the GFI ckt. cause the AFCI breaker, for the bedroom, to trip? This is a long pipe run. I would have to pull all of the wires out and re-pull with an additional nuetral conductor. I am already maxed on pipe fill.

Does anyone make a 2 pole AFCI breaker? This is a CH commercial panel (22' wide, forty slots).

BTW, are CH AFCI breakers listed for use in a commercial panel? I am new to this shop. I am not used to their ways. Running conduit under the slab to feed branch ckt.'s is new to me.

al hildenbrand

Occupation
Electrical Contractor, Electrical Consultant, Electrical Engineer
Re: AFCI Woes

CH makes a selection of double pole BR breakers.

Does this panel accept BR breakers?

peter d

You may have to mount a small "sub panel" on the side to accomodate the AFCI's.

But we need more info about this "commercial panel." Is it plug-in? Bolt-on? Type BR? Type CH?

jwelectric

I am confused by your statements as outlined below