AIC and available fault current

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jennabob

New User
Occupation
Electrical Admin
Hi All,
I am a new Electrical Admin. I have very limited practical experience, however passed the Exam with flying colors including a 90% on the calcs. However, that is not helping me at all as I am very familiar and comfortable with load and motor calcs but nothing else (learning everyday). So, please excuse my ignorance. My EC sent me the following from the POCO. Below is the only info I have. I'm not sure what they need of me or what calculation to use given the very limited info. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

First email: The AIC for the service at 825 Georgiana St. is 3,172A at the top of the weatherhead.
Second email (from another guy at POCO): Don't forget to apply the available fault current on the panel.

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Yeah that is something we don't learn in the field or at school. Fault current is usually calculated by an engineer but maybe someone here can help more. I believe Mike Holt has a free fault current calculator

texie

Occupation
Electrician, Contractor, Inspector
Hi All,
I am a new Electrical Admin. I have very limited practical experience, however passed the Exam with flying colors including a 90% on the calcs. However, that is not helping me at all as I am very familiar and comfortable with load and motor calcs but nothing else (learning everyday). So, please excuse my ignorance. My EC sent me the following from the POCO. Below is the only info I have. I'm not sure what they need of me or what calculation to use given the very limited info. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

First email: The AIC for the service at 825 Georgiana St. is 3,172A at the top of the weatherhead.
Second email (from another guy at POCO): Don't forget to apply the available fault current on the panel.