Air Conditioning Wire Sizing

Lucia1222

Occupation
HVAC tech
There's a lot of confusion between our industries but every carrier outdoor residential unit I've seen accepts a breaker at the panel not just fussed disconnects. Mitsubishi on the other hand is the one that says fuses only. The internals obviously will have their own requirements but those actually use taps based off of the actual usage of each load. That's how all small controls are done with maybe one fuse for the whole control section.
Mini spits definitely are a different breed work amazing though I’ll be honest rarely work on them the don’t break often as far as troubleshooting on those I have very little experience with them hopefully that changes because I wanna learn them I think all the inverter stuff is gaining popularity quick

Dennis Alwon

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
Mini spits definitely are a different breed. They work amazing though I’ll be honest I rarely work on them. They don’t break often and as far as troubleshooting on those I have very little experience with them. Hopefully that changes because I wanna learn them I think all the inverter stuff is gaining popularity quick
I re-wrote your post above in this post. Look at how much easier your post is to read when there are punctuation marks. It is really helpful if you use them. Thanks

mtnelect

HVAC & Electrical Contractor
Occupation
Contractor, C10 & C20 - Semi Retired
The number one problem I find on "Ductless" systems installed by others are:
1) Control cable(s) mis wired, especially when changing colors. As in extending a cable with a different color scheme.
2) Multiple units, refrigerant lines crossed.

Lucia1222

Occupation
HVAC tech
The number one problem I find on "Ductless" systems installed by others are:
1) Control cable(s) mis wired, especially when changing colors. As in extending a cable with a different color scheme.
2) Multiple units, refrigerant lines crossed.