aluminum hull boat grounding

Status
Not open for further replies.

liebler

I have a 1985 house boat with aluminum hull. When I installed a generator 2 years ago, the code called for isolating the hull from ground. I understand the 2003 NEC now calls for grounding the hull through shore power cord to the power post. I am not an electrical engineer, but I am a mechanical engineer with industrial machinery experience. Grounding the hull seems wrong to me as it's a sure way to cause a voltage between the hull and the water, thereby being a safety problem for swimmers boarding the boat, as well as cause electolosis problems in the hull material.
Can you tell me reasons for changing the code to include grounding the hull? Are there any safety problems with not grounding the hull?
Thanks!

don_resqcapt19

Staff member
Occupation
retired electrician
Re: aluminum hull boat grounding

First, there is no 2003 NEC. The current edition is 2002 and the next one will be 2005. Second the NEC does not apply to boats.
90.2(B) Not Covered. This Code does not cover the following:
(1) Installations in ships, watercraft other than floating buildings, railway rolling stock, aircraft, or automotive vehicles other than mobile homes and recreational vehicles
Don

liebler

House boat manufacturers tell me they are tearing out their hair because the Coast Guard is requiring them to follow NEC 2003, Article 250, related to grounding.
I called the Coast Guard, who refered me to NFPA 70, which is the NEC, and told me to use the 2003 version.
I'll try going back to the Coast Guard on the question. Any further advice you could provide would be appreciated.
Thanks!

dereckbc

Staff member

There is no 2003 NEC. However grounding the generator to the hull would not induce a voltage between the hull and water. Not sure about electrolosis as this is usually associated with DC and not AC.