Applying for SP-LV license - Primary experience vs. Seco

Status
Not open for further replies.

brannen

I'm a data Network Engineer. I've been in IT for 10 years and would like to get out of it and have my own business designing and installing Smarthomes.

I'm applying to take the NC Low Voltage Exam - SP-LV. I have to have 3000 hours of "Primary Experience". I'm having a little difficulty translating my IT experience into Low Voltage Experience - so it would count for primary experience.

In my IT jobs (3 in the past 10 years) I've worked with Cat6, Cat5 & 5E, and Cat3 CM and MP cabling in support of voice and data networks. I've also installed OFNP fiber cabling. I've even worked with Intercom, badge reading, and nurse call systems.

2 of my jobs have been with Hospitals where they had their own Maintenance departments. Presently, there is a building services department which typcially maintains the building, although we do our own cabling.

Which of the following would be applicable for me for Primary Experience? I'm thinking #8 or #13?

Thanks

.0202EXPERIENCE(a) Primary.Primary experience shall mean working experience gained by the applicant while engaged actively and directly inthe installation ofelectrical wiring and equipment governed by the National Electrical Code or work activities directly relatedthereto.

Examples ofthe capacity in which a person may work in gaining primary experience and the percentages for creditableprimary experience are as follows:percentage

(1)journeyman electrician or electrician mechanic,both meaning the same;100

(2)electrical foreman;100

(3)electrical general foreman;100

(4)electrical superintendent;100

(5)electrical general superintendent;100

(6)estimator for licensed electrical contractor;100

(7)electrical inspector recognized as such by the State Department ofInsurance;100