Apprentice Looking For Some Insight

Status
Not open for further replies.

crispysonofa

Occupation
Electrical and Security Contractor
Hello! what a great community this is and a wealth of knowledge! I have been working in the trade for almost 3 years doing mainly residential work. I have done plenty of service installs but haven't designed any myself as far as conductor sizing/load calculations. I am looking for some insight and making sure I am doing everything correctly. I want to get comfortable designing my own systems as I get closer to becoming licensed. I think the best way for me to learn is use real world scenarios. So today I started to try and design a 200 Amp 240v single phase 3 wire service for a barn that is not a dwelling. It exists 100 feet from the pole. I want to list what I think I could use and then you guys can tell me I'm wrong:) I am a little confused as to how I would do a load calculation for a barn. Would I use the dwelling calculation of 4VA/SquareFoot for lighting and general receptacle loads? I think I can use 2inch PVC with 3, 4/0 Alum USE conductors, my voltage drop would be 2.3% at 100 feet. I would use #4 bare for my ground rods. I understand that 2 inch is the minimum size and would most likely oversize them a bit (2.5 or 3). Also I'm not sure if Arc faults would be required in a barn or if I would use GFI protected circuits? I have my 2017 codebook handy I'm just trying to learn as much as I can. I really appreciate the insight!

Last edited:

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I started to try and design a 200 Amp 240v single phase 3 wire service for a barn that is not a dwelling. I am a little confused as to how I would do a load calculation for a barn.

If you have already decided it's a 200 amp service, you don't need a load calc. The purpose of the load calc is to decide the service size.

Coppersmith

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
It exists 100 feet from the pole. my voltage drop would be 2.3% at 100 feet.