Arc Flash

Status
Not open for further replies.

sandsnow

I went to a seminar on arc flash last week. we were told that examination of energized equipment could possibly require protection. As an inspector I have done this many times. The electrician removes the covers while energized. I searched Cal/Osha (since I'm in CA) and could only find that workers shall have protection while "working" on energized, but no description of what "work" is. I'll have to check, but I do not believe we have adopted NFPA 70E where there may be more requirements.
1. Does anyone have a Cal/Osha definition of work?

2. Do any inspectors require eqipment to be de-energized for inspection?

3. If, so is there any reference to any osha safety orders or anything in NFPA 70E?

Thanks

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
Re: Arc Flash

"Working On" and "Working Near" are both defined in 70E.

70E also defines various "Approach Boundaries" that establish specific degrees of permitted approach to energized equipment and PPE that may be required.

FedOSHA currently may enforce 70E under the General Use clause of 29CFR1910.4

California is one of four "State Programs" that works under an "Operational Status Agreement" with FedOSHA and has never received FedOSHA "final approval."

[ July 26, 2004, 11:28 AM: Message edited by: rbalex ]

tom baker

First Chief Moderator
Staff member

70E should be included with the NEC. We will only see more and more requirements for electrical safety. Trade groups are pusing the issue. The issue being taught now is to deenergize first. Only work hot if you have to.

ron

I'm not familiar with the Cal/Osha, but federal osha has text such as "Employees working in areas where there are potential electrical hazards ..." 1910.335(a)(1)(i)

I do a lot of electrical survey work as part of my work, and that is considered "work" in areas where there are potential electrical hazards in my book.