balancing a 240V 3 phase delta

Status
Not open for further replies.

morbones

I am trying to determine whether there would be any significant savings in kWhrs in balancing a 3 phase 240V delta system. Load is concentrated on A @115A and C @55A, B(hi leg) current is minimal. The facility lighting is 400W Metal Halide wired @ 120V, neutrals are imbalanced-overloaded in some cases. Considering wiring fixtures for 240V to balance.

SG-1

Welcome to the Forum !

How is your delta deriving a neutral ?

You have one winding center tapped. You did say high leg.

I think it would help if only to reduce the I squared R losses in the overloaded neutrals. Also if you rewire for 240 there will be less I squared R losses in all the conductors supplying the lights, because the current will be reduced.

Last edited:

morbones

I did say high leg. So the only significant saving in power usage would be the resulting decrease in power loss due to reduced current?

SG-1

I am not an expert in this field. More members will post if they have something to contribute. Watch your thread for a couple of days.

I would also think that balencing the transformer would result in reduced heat loss there, but it may be insignificent.

What size transformer do you have ?

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Bones, welcome to the forum! :)

There's probably no benefit to balancing as far as the power meter is concerned, but balancing the A and C currents would allow more overhead for future additions.

For high-leg Deltas, it's common for the high leg to be more lightly loaded, because it doesn't have any line-to-neutral loads, only 1ph and 3ph line-to-line loads.

Smart $

Esteemed Member
Bones, welcome to the forum! :)

There's probably no benefit to balancing as far as the power meter is concerned, but balancing the A and C currents would allow more overhead for future additions.