ballasts

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi all,
I'm a young apprentice, and I have been told that you always want to ground out a florescent fixture to itself. Why is this? Does the ballast make a grounding connection to the fixture by the way it is attached? What will happen if it is not grounded to itself?
Some insight please!

bphgravity

Re: ballasts

I've never heard of this nor is it a code requirement. Just follow the instructions from the manufacturer on how to ground (bond) the luminaire and you will be fine. The metal to metal contact of the ballast to the fixture housing establishes the effective fault path.

jerryb

Bryan is right on this. No need to do something special, Just make sure that the fixture is bonded to the electrical system. There normally is a green bonding screw inside the fixture housing.

Several years ago I received an electrical shock when I touched a copper water pipe. After a little experimenting I discovered that all the lay-in fixtures were installed with no grounding conductor. The ballast had a small amount of leakage current which transferred to the fixture body and then to the ceiling grid. If I touched any part of the ceiling grid and a water pipe at the same time, I would receive a 120 volt shock. When I installed a jumper from the pipe to the grid, the shock went away. This is just a good example why everything needs to be bonded.

iwire

Staff member

Originally posted by gettingstarted:
Hi all,
I'm a young apprentice, and I have been told that you always want to ground out a florescent fixture to itself. Why is this? Does the ballast make a grounding connection to the fixture by the way it is attached? What will happen if it is not grounded to itself?
Some insight please!
Some of the new electronic ballasts have a terminal marked ground that must be used but this terminal will not ground the fixture body.

So you end up grounding the fixture and the ballast.