Bathroom receptacles in hotel

Kreis

Occupation
MAINTENANCE
I'm the supervisor of maintenance for a few buildings including a hotel that's being renovated. Today I noticed that only one of the bathroom outlets by sink basin were GFCI. I understand that they could both be protected as long as the first in the circuit was GFCI. I was wondering though don't both still have to be actual GFCI outlets or is the one fine as long as it is first on the circuit?
I am not a licensed electrician but this contracting company has been caught lately cutting a lot of corners and I'm just curious about the actual code here.
Sorry title is supposed to be bathroom not bath the room lol.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
No, they can be regular receptacles as long as they are GFCI protected from a device or breaker.

BarryO

Occupation
Electrical engineer (retired)
Easy enough to test the receptacles with an inexpensive tester.

GoldDigger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired PV System Designer
Some horrible troubleshooting problems occur when someone who does not understand pass through protection ends up putting two or more GFCI receptacles in series. Trying to figure where they all are for one circuit is hard enough, and it could be any one of the upstream devices that trips. Or even all of them.
Using a portable GFCI tester on a circuit wired in this way can get you into a world of trouble getting it back on again.
The test button on a GFCI receptacle should NOT trip upstream devices, unlike the portable tester.
The safe way to verify coverage is to plug in a load and then use the test button on the visible GFCI receptacle and see if the other loses power too.

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
The test button on a GFCI receptacle should NOT trip upstream devices, unlike the portable tester.
I don't understand, why would a portable tester (analyzer) have any effect on upstream devices?

BarryO

Occupation
Electrical engineer (retired)