Beat the elephant in the room (again!) about AFCI breakers...

Status
Not open for further replies.

mbrooke

Batteries Included
Occupation
Technician
Interesting. Have you completed the course?

It's sad that there has to be a course established on how to trouble shoot issues with AFCI breakers.

I'm interested/curious enough about the course content to spend a couple of hours doing it on a weekend.

Why is it that when I was an apprentice and AFCI's were only required in bedrooms (mid-2000's) we never had issues with AF tripping (that I can remember)?
Now that they're required everywhere issues with them are practically expected.

Those were branch feeder AFCIs, and looked for high current series arcing (short circuits). When they came out with series arc protection nuisance tripping shot up. On reason being that high current arcs are not sensed below 75 amps, where as series arcs stop being sensed below 5 amps.

NE (9.06 miles @5.9 Degrees from Winged Horses)
Occupation
EC - retired
Interesting. Have you completed the course?

It's sad that there has to be a course established on how to trouble shoot issues with AFCI breakers.

I'm interested/curious enough about the course content to spend a couple of hours doing it on a weekend.

Why is it that when I was an apprentice and AFCI's were only required in bedrooms (mid-2000's) we never had issues with AF tripping (that I can remember)?
Now that they're required everywhere issues with them are practically expected.

I believe the first AFCI was a series arc and the combination series/parallel came about a few years later. There were issues with vacuums, chop saws, etc and we became accustomed to using those items on non protected outlets. Our newer vacuum does not trip them.