Best Practice when AC/DC transformers (wall worts) are needed above a drop ceiling.

GxPGuy

Occupation
Instrumentation Technician
Greetings,
I'm an instrumentation technician that has been tasked with installing a differential pressure monitoring system in a commercial environment. Pressure measurement is made using 4-20mA loop powered transmitters. Each transmitter will be powered/connected to a custom communication device that is powered using a wall wort style transformer (I was voluntold to use this device) that has a micro USB connector on the end. So essentially, the device is powered by a usb charger. It was requested that we locate the transmitters in clusters, in boxes above the drop ceiling. This means I will have as many as 12 wall transformers to contend with above a drop ceiling at each transmitter box. Electricians will handle any AC requirements, and I will certainly discuss with them but while searching for solutions/recommendations/code requirements online, I came across this site and figured I would ask. What are the best practices/code requirements/safety considerations when dealing with these types of transformers above a drop ceiling in a commercial environment?

Let me add that that whole thing feels "dirty" which is why I'm asking the experts....hoping to find a solution that I can feel ok about.

Thank you for your time!
Bob

suemarkp

Occupation
Retired Engineer
Do you have to use a wall warts, or would a receptacle type USB outlet work to power it? If so, they even make them with no 120v receptacles if you only want USB. I'd probably go with the combo 120v and USB type though so the 120v is available if needed.

There was a thread about what can be above a drop ceiling. I can't remember if wall warts were indicated as OK. They probably meet the CL2 limits, but not sure they are marked as such.

Is this ceiling an air handling space, or is the return air ducted?

hbiss

EC, Westchester, New York NEC: 2014
Occupation
EC