billable labor hours dispute

kchap

I am a controls integrator, caught in a dispute with a customer for whom I have been doing work for a few years now. Recently my company supplied them with a control panel for a brand new machine and performed the install/startup for it. Because this was a small job, I delegated it to one of my employees who is still learning the job. Because this employee is still learning, I did not charge for all of the hours he worked - about a 30% discount for the labor.

There was a fair bit of "figuring out" to do on both the controls and mechanical aspects of the project, and it required my employee to learn how to use configuration software for a light curtain that was new to us (the light curtain was supplied by the customer). After receiving the invoice, the customer requested a greater discount, arguing that he should not need to pay for the time it took for my employee to learn how to use the software and stumble through PLC program development. (I suspect the actual reason is that they have way more of their own resources invested in the project than they anticipated when they quoted the machine, and are now trying to recoup some of that cost.)

For anyone who has encountered a similar situation, how did you navigate it? Did you offer any kind of discount, or did you stand firm on the price? What were the results?

Last edited:
There will often be disputes with T&M pricing and when final costs are higher than estimates. Offering a fixed price is the only way to surely and truly avoid that, of course I understand that can be difficult on some projects. Only other recommendation I have is in the future avoid giving customers details about what is happening on your side of things. The experience level of your guy and how you are figuring out Billing him is none of their business.

kchap