Bolted Fault Current

Status
Not open for further replies.

mikecj

Everyone,

Please be gentle, I'm new to this. I'm trying to do the incident energy and arc flash calculations found in NFPA 70E.

One term that keeps creeping up is "Bolted Fault Current"
1. What exactly is the "Bolted Fault Current"?
2. How do I determine it? In most of the examples, it is given not calculated.

Any help will be appreciated.

Thanks,

MikeCJ

bkludecke

Occupation
Retired Electrical Contractor
I'm no engineer but as I understand it 'bolted fault' refers to a dead short in two conductors that are joined together (bolted) so well that they can't arc or burn away. Therefore the OCPD must be relied on to clear the fault without destroying the equipment.

bphgravity

Many faults start out as intermittent, arcing faults with relatively low magnitude currents. A bolted fault on the other hand is one that creates tremendous amounts of current and will sustain this current until the circuit is opened by some means.

A bolted fault current is the maximum available fault current at some point in the electrical system. For example, the bolted fault current of a transformer is the maximum output power of the transformer divided by the transformer impedance and transformer voltage rating.

This value can be used to determine what AIC and SCCR ratings equipment and materials need in order to safely carry and interrupt these faults currents under the worse of conditions.

kingpb

Occupation
Engineer, Registered
The reason bolted fault current is used is because any impedance in the faulted current path will reduce the amount of current that will flow. Therefore, the bolted fault current is considered to be the maximum fault current you would have at that point in the system. Although the maximum current is needed, so is minimum current.