Bonding - CID2. Articles 501.30 and 250.96

Status
Not open for further replies.

Dale001289

Bonding across hinged doors – Nema 4X Junction boxes and Control Panels, etc, CID2, (24VDC and 120VAC). Its industry practice to do this since the hinge is usually not considered to be a sufficient bond but there doesn't seem to be a NEC article that directly talks to this. I would say 501.30 and 250.96 are sufficient arguments in favor of, but our 'friends' in Construction aren't convinced. Any suggestions?

nhee2

I've always assumed this bond is a UL508 requirement and not NEC, independent of haz area requirements.

Jim1959

As I worked in the trade, I always understood it to be required when there was an electrical device mounted in the door. It's obviously a good practice, especially View attachment HOFFMAN CSD INSTRUCTIONS.pdf in a classified area. I attached a sheet from the Hoffman CSD installation instructions. Just pictures, so there's not much info, but since they show it being bonded, I would say that it is required by the manufacturer and therefore by 110.3 B.

Dale001289

As I worked in the trade, I always understood it to be required when there was an electrical device mounted in the door. It's obviously a good practice, especially View attachment 18307 in a classified area. I attached a sheet from the Hoffman CSD installation instructions. Just pictures, so there's not much info, but since they show it being bonded, I would say that it is required by the manufacturer and therefore by 110.3 B.

good feedback, I will definitely use this as part of my response. Thanks!

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
UL 508a says this.

66.3.4 An internal bonding conductor shall be provided between a metal cover or a door on which
electrical components are mounted, and the enclosure or the equipment grounding terminal. The bonding
conductor shall have an ampacity not less than the largest circuit conductor used to connect the cover or
door-mounted components.