Bonding Interior Walls

Status
Not open for further replies.
OK guys help me out here. I have individuals living in modified containers to make bedrooms out of them. They have metal walls that are not connected to the grounding electrode system. No Fault Current Path. There are outlets and switches in these walls. There are electric wall heaters mounted on them and conductors going through the walls without protection. What do you think walls bonded or not. (NEC 250.104) I used this code to my boss and he does not think this constitutes being likely to become energized. I am an Inspector do you have any ideas to help me inforce this? I tried 250.104, 250.190 :rolleyes:

Cavie

OK guys help me out here. I have individuals living in modified containers to make bedrooms out of them. They have metal walls that are not connected to the grounding electrode system. No Fault Current Path. There are outlets and switches in these walls. There are electric wall heaters mounted on them and conductors going through the walls without protection. What do you think walls bonded or not. (NEC 250.104) I used this code to my boss and he does not think this constitutes being likely to become energized. I am an Inspector do you have any ideas to help me inforce this? I tried 250.104, 250.190 :rolleyes:

In Florida all metal framing that has electric in it will be bonded per Fla building code.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I think they qualify as structural metal. I also suspect they are bolted together, which would bond the individual units to each other. So you would need to run a GEC to a convenient spot.