Branch wiring for menuboards

Status
Not open for further replies.

dbowling

I work as a consultant to a national quick-serve restaurant chain. They wish to upgrade their menuboards and have proposed that the boards be plug-and-cord connected to quad outlets within a wall mounted truss structure.

The proposed arrangement they provided shows a whip from the branch circuit into this structure to a quad outlet receptacle. Then several menuboards would plug into this outlet receptacle. This all seems to be reasonable until they then show the next quad outlet receptacle with a cord and plug that plugs into the first quad.

There are a total of six quad outlet receptacles for the menuboards and each quad outlet receptacle is fed from the previous one via a cord and plug. I have looked thru the Code and cannot find anything specific related to this wiring method, but it just does not seem Code compliant. Almost seems like using made-up extension cords for a permanent branch wiring system.

Is this an acceptable wiring method? If not, can anyone direct be to the Code reference(s)?

Volta

Well, might be easier if we read them out of order here. We can only use the cord + plug method if we comply with 3, 6, or 8 below, unless specifically permitted elsewhere.

"400.7(B) Attachment Plugs. Where used as permitted in
400.7(A)(3), (A)(6), and (A)(8), each flexible cord shall
be equipped with an attachment plug and shall be energized
from a receptacle outlet or cord connector body."

I don't think this situation warrants it.

"400.7 Uses Permitted.
(A) Uses. Flexible cords and cables shall be used only for
the following:
(1) Pendants
(2) Wiring of luminaires
(3) Connection of portable luminaires, portable and mobile
signs, or appliances

(4) Elevator cables
(5) Wiring of cranes and hoists
(6) Connection of utilization equipment to facilitate frequent
interchange

(7) Prevention of the transmission of noise or vibration
(8) Appliances where the fastening means and mechanical