Breaker installation with 75kva transformer

Status
Not open for further replies.

LisP2921

I have a 480 volt panel feeding a 75kva transformer within 10 feet. Does the secondary panel need a main breaker or can it be main lugs?

templdl

Interesting that inquiry omited advising what the secondary configuration was. One would assume that it is a 480Y/277 or more commonly a 208Y/120 if in fact it was a 3ph transformer. as such secondary protection is required. If it was a 240 delta secondary it is not required as I understand the NEC requirements.
Again, the question is abbiguous in that it cold be a 1ph transforer and if so wold most likely have a 120/240 1ph3w secondary which would require secondary protection. If the secondary was 1ph2w which is somewhat uncommon then it would not.
It sould be noted that if secondary protection is not required the primary OCPD must be sized accordingly.
As a former application engineer I have become very cautious about answering ambiguous questions and questions that are asked in a way that the person who is asking the questions is trying to get an answer which they want to hear which may be the incorrect answer. I have become very gun shy.

Volta

Interesting that inquiry omited advising what the secondary configuration was. One would assume that it is a 480Y/277 or more commonly a 208Y/120 if in fact it was a 3ph transformer. as such secondary protection is required. If it was a 240 delta secondary it is not required as I understand the NEC requirements.
You might be thinking straight 480, not 480Y/277 240.4(F). The wye-delta needs secondary protection.
Again, the question is abbiguous in that it cold be a 1ph transforer and if so wold most likely have a 120/240 1ph3w secondary which would require secondary protection. If the secondary was 1ph2w which is somewhat uncommon then it would not.
It sould be noted that if secondary protection is not required the primary OCPD must be sized accordingly.