Bubble Cover for Generator E-Stop

brmgp1

Hey Guys,

I'm an engineer (not a field guy) coming in peace. We have a generator e-stop per NEC 445.18(B) located on a loading dock, and the owner (school district) is concerned the button may get inadvertently pressed. They want to see a plastic bubble cover or similar protection around it.

I'm struggling to specify a specific product, since there's no backbox to mount to. Anyone have any ideas that may work in this scenario? Appreciate any thoughts you have.

CU3C0U7.jpg

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
Welcome to the forum.

What's more important, or more likely, needing to hit it quickly or not hitting it accidentally?

Are there rules against such a barrier?

infinity

Staff member
Occupation
Journeyman Electrician
As mentioned we always use a break glass type switch for an E-stop. Although it may be code compliant IMO the one in the photo is not suitable for this type of installation.

kec

Occupation
Electrical Contractor
I know of some generators like Generac, if you push the E-stop then reset it you will have to go into the control panel and reset it manually.

Locating it maybe key to avoid being inadvertently pushed in.

brmgp1

Thank you everyone.

@LarryFine ... NEC 445.18(B) appears to treat this as a traditional disconnecting means. Even with a lockable bubble cover (I advised against a locking mechanism) this would still be considered readily accessible. I do not prefer this additional cover but the customer definitely wants it.

@ron ... Thank you for sending this over, there are some great products. It looks like there are some covers that have accessories such as backplates that would help with mounting the cover directly onto the brick. It seems like the covers would only accommodate conduits up to 3/4" but I believe the photo is showing a 1" or larger, I will confirm. I see no reason why they can't reduce to 3/4" here

kec

Occupation