California Contractors what are you doing to comply

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
I was wondering what all you CA contractors are doing to comply with Title 24 energy requirements with regards to remodels.

1) your customer wants to change the location of the exisiting Kitchen light and install a Track. no High efficacy luminairs are purchased.

2) the customer wants to install a new light bar in the bath. Once again no High eficacy lamps here either.

at the same time you are requested to install ceiling fans where there are none.

A permit is required, The inspector will notice the lack of High eficacy lights.
What are you guys doing?

rgomes26

I'm not sure what all the contractors are doing but as an inspector I would:

- Be looking for 50% hi-efficacy lighting in the kitchen unless the lighting isn't changed
- Be looking for hi-eff in bathroom or occ sensor if lighting is changed

If you're not changing the lighting from existing (existing = permitted and approved) then I wouldn't make you upgrade or comply with current.

Sierrasparky

Occupation
Electrician ,contractor
I kind of knew what you inspectors especially Cowboy would say. I really want to know how the contractors out in the field are dealing with this. I would really like to know what someone at one of those Electrical franchises are doing.

Strife

You can either:
1: Do it as big brother wants it. (good luck getting jobs that way)
2: Recommend a handy man to the customer and charge $50.00 for the recommendation.
3: Go handy man yourself.

I was wondering what all you CA contractors are doing to comply with Title 24 energy requirements with regards to remodels.

1) your customer wants to change the location of the exisiting Kitchen light and install a Track. no High efficacy luminairs are purchased.

2) the customer wants to install a new light bar in the bath. Once again no High eficacy lamps here either.