Can "outsiders" get a Masters in Washington state?

Status
Not open for further replies.

ZZDoug

Sorry for the strange title, but you will see what I mean in a moment.....
Was filling out the application for the Washington state masters exam and ran into a problem. The requirements say you must have held a journeymans license for (at least) 4 years, and since I have been a master electrician for 20 years and of course a journeyman much longer (all in other states), I figured no problem.
But something about the wording bothered me so I called the license dept in Washington. The lady there said I didn't qualify because you must hold a journeyman license 4 years IN THE STATE OF WASHINGTON. In other words, she said it doesn't matter if you hold any license in any other state for any length of time - only a Washington state journeyman license for 4 years will qualify you for the Washington masters. Sounds as if no outsiders need apply.
This doesn't seem right as well as being odd, I have never heard of this from any other state. However, I did get it direct from the source ...... Anyone know anything about this? Say it aint so!

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer
I think this is how it works, but I might have it wrong. See this site for the actual rules:
http://www.lni.wa.gov/TradesLicensing/Electrical/LawRulePol/LawsRules/default.asp

Firse, let's be clear about terms. In Washington, the phrase "Master Electrician Certification of Competency" is a combination of the "Journeyman Electrician Certification of Competency" and the "Electrical Administrator Certification." You can perform work in the electrical trade as a journeyman, and you can get a journeyman certification based on work performed in another jurisdiction. But to get the Masters, I think you need to have the journeyman certificate in Washington for four years, and you need to take the Master's exam.

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
charlie b said: