Caps For Unused Conduits

smithtex

Occupation
Electrical Apprentice
I’m still learning things. On a job with class 1 div 2 classification I’m being told that I can’t use metal sch 40 NPT pipe caps to cap off some unused RMC conduits, but that I have to use the listed metal close up plugs instead per 500.E3. Those are just plugs that screw into an RMC coupling. I’m confused about why the code insists on this. RMC couplings thread onto conduit with much less resistance than fittings that are made for gas piping. So screwing a RMC coupling on top of a unused conduit and then screwing a plug that is listed for class one division two locations into that likely has less sealing power than a non-electrical steel pipe cap. I could see sort of if this was at an explosion proof enclosure where maybe we actually want the burning gases in an exposure to slowly escape. However at the unused conduit, the goal is just to keep vapor from even getting it in the first place.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
I have a couple of questions/comments of my own first:
  • I have no idea what "500.E3" you are citing is; i.e., I don't know who/what your source of this information is.
  • What you are describing is potentially a boundary seal covered in Section 501.15(B)(2), where the opening sentence is, "A conduit seal shall be required in each conduit run leaving a Class I, Division 2 location." However, the closing sentence is, "Such seals shall not be required to be explosionproof but shall be identified for the purpose of minimizing the passage of gases permitted under normal operating conditions and shall be accessible."
In my opinion either a conduit cap or plug would be suitable. For the purpose of this previous statement the threaded connections need to meet Section 500.8(E).

BTW, where did you get the idea that a plug is listed for any Classified location? Trick question: How do you know RMC is listed for a Classified location?

rbalex