Central emergency lighting inverters....code compiant? how?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noobdesigner

So anyway i am a junior designer working under an engineer. One of our clients is insisting we use a central inverter for their emergency egress lighting. My engineer is fighting them and telling them that the installation would not be code compliant due to the fact that the fixture designated "emergency" in a given area needs to be on the branch circuit serving that area in accordance with

700.12(f)

"The branch circuit feeding the unit equipment must be the same branch circuit as that serving the normal lighting in the area and connected ahead of any local switches."

how does a centrally located lighting inverter comply with code if it is NOT powered by the local branch circuit serving an area. the idea is to have this single inverter power emergency egress lighting throughout the entire facility even though there are multiple local branch circuits for lighting. If for some reason one of the branch circuits drop, the room would be in darkness. I apologize if this is worded funny as i am still learning and my head has been in the 700 section of the NEC for 3 days trying to figure out how a central lighting inverter meets the most basic code requirements. Any insight would be appreciated.

steve66

Occupation
Engineer
Yes, if you have a central lighting inverter, you do not have unit equipment.

Unit equipment lights are normally off. They turn on when the branch circuit looses power.

Lighting inverters are normally connected to lights that are on 24x7. Normally they just pass utility power to the lights. When the power goes out, the battery kicks in and the lights stay on.

It does have to be a listed emergency lighting inverter. Not just a regular UPS.

Tread lightly with your boss - some people willing to accept they are wrong, and others aren't.

jcbabb