Ceu

Status
Not open for further replies.

brian john

Virginia is requiring CEU's for renewal of licenses as are most states where I hold a masters.

I have taken numerous EXCELLENT classes, but for some reason these were not approved by one county in my area. 5 day course by a major manufacture. So I get notified that a 3 hour course on NEC changes is on the approved list. Folks I talked too, that have taken one of these classes told me this class is 90% residential.

So as usual it appears to me, that a good thought by our state representatives is turned into a money maker for some training centers with little concern for actual improvement. Maybe I am stupid but these mini classes are too much too quick.

A 3 hour class, covering mostly residential matter really does little in the long scheme of things for many. Additionally most masters I know have little to do with electrical work once they get into business.

If they really wanted to improve they would require a 6 weeks once a week 3 hours a night, then there might be a dent in the lack of learning.

I am not against school, I am constantly taking classes, beats watching the Deadliest Catch on Discovery NIGHT AFTER NIGHT. Looking into my fall classes today, registering Tuesday.

Buck Parrish

My state NC allows courses to be taken on the internet. You can choose commercial, reisdential, code changes etc...
I think the State officials have decided to change this. Change will be sitting in a class at some hotel for 10 hours.

peter d

brian john said:
I am not against school, I am constantly taking classes, beats watching the Deadliest Catch on Discovery NIGHT AFTER NIGHT. Looking into my fall classes today, registering Tuesday.

Gee, I'm not sure...I think watching reruns of Deadliest Catch beats sitting in a classroom talking about the NEC, but that's just me. ;)

brian john

Other than Mythbusters, Cash Cab and Surviorman they are loosing me.