Charge “Half-Day” or “Full-Day”

Status
Not open for further replies.

sw_ross

Kind of a continuation of the Handyman thread that evolved into a debate about what people charge...

Regarding bidding a job/task I’ve been thinking about the concept of using the “half-day“ or “full-day” concept for figuring a price rather than hours.

Take yesterday’s job for example, I ran a new circuit for a new mini-split going in. Normally, When estimating my time to do the task I try to estimate (conservatively) how long it will take me and tack on material costs, markup, etc., to come up with a bid price.

The thing I’m coming to realize (I’m still kinda new to my business and bidding jobs) is that if you have a job that takes you say, from 8am- 2pm to complete, by the time you’re cleaned up, packed up, etc. you don’t have a lot of time left in the day to chase down other jobs that might also be a “half-day” type of job. I don’t like starting a job at 3pm, knowing that you don’t have enough time in the day to finish and that you’ll have to return in the morning to finish.

So again, take yesterday’s job, I estimated about 5 hours (this is more than normal for the task but there were added routing challenges for the circuit). It actually took me about 5.5 hours which affected my bottom line for a smaller type job.

What I’m thinking about doing in regards to jobs like this, for bidding purposes, is using a “Half-day”or “Full-day” concept. Obviously I wouldn’t be telling the customer the specifics of how I come to my price.

My justification for using this model is the fact the by the time I finished yesterday’s job (for example) even though it didn’t take a full day, from a job that I could’ve charged a full-days amount for.

Yesterday’s job, if I used a “full-day” method, the bid price would’ve been $174 more than my actual bid.
This would’ve compensated me for NOT doing a full day’s of work at another location to accommodate the customer’s needs for two-thirds day task.