Cheaper alternative wallpacks?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Electron_Sam78

I just priced some 175 and 70watt metal halide wallpaks and they are ridiculously expensive. :jawdrop:

These were of course well known brands such as Cooper, Lithonia, etc. Does anyone have any suggestions for a good off brand wallpack that is cheaper?

kbsparky

You can start here.

URL]

hurk27

I have been buying RUUD fixtures for over 15 years, when you deal directly with RUUD or order online, you can get them much lower cost then most others from supply houses, and they ship fast!!

I just had to replace quite a few RAB's for a very large junkyard and their trucking company, they lasted only two years or less, the heat from the lamp goes right up into the ballast and other components, with the amount of light I get out of the RUUD wall pack's I was able to reduce the wattage of some fixtures.

Here is the main reasons I use RUUD:

1. Any contractor can order directly from them and in many cases get the products the next day (they are in Racine Wisconsin) but they do ship fast, many times they are priced lower then cheaper fixtures are from a supply house, and they bend over backward to make sure you and your customers are happy.

2. Their wall packs are the easiest fixture to hang, they come with a small wiring box/plate you mount on the wall, it has 4 entries top, back, left or right, that once you have mounted it, it has two screws sticking out that you just hang the light on, level it tighten, and wire it and put the back cover (which has a seal) on, hang the front cover on and your done, no holding the fixture while trying to get your screws into a wall or wire it, so simple I can do them off a ladder without a sweat ( nothing like trying to hole a 400 watt wall pack up) while trying to get your screws in or wiring the fixture to an existing box while holding the fixture, install one of RUUDs wall packs and you will never want to hang any other brand.