Circuits subject to overloading in normal use.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jiajun

I am looking at the fuses used in hazardous area. I am not quite sure the meaning of the term "circuits not subject to overloading in normal use" in 501.105(B)(5) and some whitepaper from mfg, like

http://www.cooperindustries.com/content/dam/public/bussmann/Electrical/Resources/technical-literature/bus-ele-an-3186-class-1-div-2-fuses.pdf

From my understanding, it looks like motor is one of the equipment that subject to overloading in normal. But I still don't know how to find out if an equipment or circuit is "subject to overloading in normal use". Is there any guideline I can use?

Another question is why "circuits NOT subject to overloading in normal use" need to be preceded by a proper switch? And it seems not being required for motors, appliances or lamps?

Thanks! I am still kind of new to the industry and sorry for some misuse terminologies if any.

Russs57

Occupation
Maintenance Engineer
I may be way wrong on this.....but i'm remembering something.

I was curious why they used a transformer to step voltage down for a panel mounted voltmeter and scaled the dial on the meter to display a voltage 4 times higher than it actually received. I was told it was done to limit fault current potential. I think that is an example of what you are asking about.....as in the meter circuit would not be subject to overloading.

Jraef

Moderator, OTD
Staff member
Occupation
Electrical Engineer
No, motors ARE subject to overloading under normal use. What they are referring to are things like METERS and relays that have virtually no load on them, but you need the fuse to protect the conductors against a short circuit.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer