Class 2, Div ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

bearman

Hi there - I'm a newbie to NEC code, so please forgive my ignorance:

I have been told by another engineer with much more experience than me that if I have a device that is denoted as Class 2, Div 1, then it is robust enough to be used in a Class 2, Div 2 environment.

This sounds correct, however, I'm a bit shaky about specifying a device which does not specifically state "Class 2, Division 2" on it.

Can anyone shed light on this? Does a Division 1 trump out Division 2 and 3 all the time (in both Class 1 and Class 2)?

Thanks

edamico11

bearman

bearman

Try this link for info

http://edis.ifas.ufl.edu/OA071

Scroll down to "Definitions of classes from osha standard 1910.399

IMO I would say no, why not just get the correct class device?

oops I am not correct 1910.307(d)

Section 1910.307(d) -- Equipment in Division 2 Locations

Equipment that has been approved for a Division 1 location may be installed in a Division 2 location of the same class and group. General-purpose equipment or equipment in general-purpose enclosures may be installed in Division 2 locations if the equipment does not constitute a source of ignition under normal operating conditions.

So if you do not violate this,,, yes IMO

Last edited:

RayS

basically, the div. 1 area is considered to operate normally with atmosphere in question, whereas the div. 2 area would only have the atmosphere under abnormal or breakdown conditions.

This means that if it's good enough for div.1, div 2 is a given.

rbalex

Staff member
Occupation
Professional Electrical Engineer
The Marking rules are found in Section 500.8(B). Specifically, 500.8(B)(2) for Division marking.

bearman

Thanks for your help, guys.