CNC Equipment Install

Status
Not open for further replies.

MatthewM

Hello Electrical Gurus,

Bottom Line Up Front:
I am installing equipment and am concerned that the calculated service requirements far exceed the manufacturers recommended install requirements.

History:
I am the maintenance supervisor for a manufacturing facility. I have worked here for eight months and before coming here had very little experience in the electrical industry. I am currently assigned to a project in which I am working on the installation of several pieces of CNC equipment. Specifically my guys are installing several HAAS CNC machining centers. We have an electrician at the facility; however, he is not a licensed electrical contractor (there are no certifications for electricians in the state of Arizona outside of a contractor's license).
My degree is in mechanical engineering, but through research and study I have developed an extremely rudimentary understanding of the code and electrical systems. I did my best at calculating the requirements for our equipment and what I calculated far exceeds the manufacturers recommended installation instructions. I am here to seek counsel from experienced electricians. I would like to know if I made incorrect assumptions in my calculations, and if not why the code differs so much from what the manufacturer recommends.

The System:
The machines run on 240V, 3 pahse power. Each machine will have its own run of conduit with 3 current carrying wires and a ground wire. Runs are no longer than 50 ft total. Busway switches are rated at 75 deg C.

Machine Type 1 - HAAS VF1
Feed: 3 Phase Power at 240V off of a bus bar (Bus bar is fed from a 175kVA transformer)
Peak Load: 20 kVA
Continuous Load: 14 kVA

Manufacturers recommended wire size @ 240V: #8 AWG
My calculated wire size @240V:#3 AWG

Machine Type 2 - HAAS TL-2
Feed: 3 Phase Power at 240V off of a bus bar (Bus bar is fed from a 175kVA transformer).
Peak Load: 14 kVA
Continuous Load: 20 kVA