Co-Op or Work

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am approaching my junior year in electrical engineering and am having trouble deciding what the best path to take would be.
I currently work full time as a licensed maintenance electrician but my teachers are saying I should instead get a Co-Op or internship. It would be difficult yet not impossible for me to take the cut in pay this would require. I am also considering applying for a job as a utility designer as a compromise, however, I do not necessarily think that is a path I would like to peruse after graduation.
I want to break into factory automation, and power distribution.

What do you think would be the best course of action?

Iron_Ben

I disagree with your teachers. To me, your hands-on experience as an electrician is very valuable and carries a lot of weight. Co-op or internship experience can be meaningful as well, but I saw plenty of co-op students doing mundane tasks; glorified busywork in some cases. I had years of experience as a industrial electrician in locomotive manufacturing before I got my BSEE. What I learned and was exposed to as an electrician was extremely beneficial to my career and my competence as an engineer, more than I ever imagined it might be. YMMV. Good luck to you!

petersonra

Occupation
engineer
I suspect that potential employers will probably look more favorably on an internship as opposed to working as a Tradesman.

This is especially true if you can get an employer that you actually want to work for to give you an internship.

jim dungar

Staff member
Occupation
PE (Retired) - Power Systems
Do whatever will apply to the career you are looking to have after you graduate.

Given your stated desire for an industrial career, interning for a consultant designing schools would not be as helpful as hands-on experience.

Sunny_92

I'd say getting a co-op or internship has the potential to benefit you more, but it also has more risk.