computer lab

Status
Not open for further replies.

clipperclipper

Dear Mike,
I'm an electrician with little of experience, just 6 years in the trade. Here is my dilemma, I have a call from a school lab that put 20 computers on a single 20 amps circut. And of course this would trip the breaker when all 20 computer are used. So when I got there I would add another circut to it. So now 10 computers are on one circut and 10 computers are on the other circut. This work fine. There are no problem of its tripping. But here is the question, a co-worker wanted to put a 30 amp breaker inside 100 amp service panel, ran it to a junction box and splice it to where one hot, one nuetral, and one ground to 10 computer and the same to the other 10 computers. At the time I told him this would'nt be a safe application. I'm I right or wrong?

[ November 21, 2005, 11:24 PM: Message edited by: clipperclipper ]

celtic

Re: computer lab

You're asking this question with "just 6 years in the trade"?

Be honest.

iwire

Staff member

Originally posted by clipperclipper:
But here is the question, a co-worker wanted to put a 30 amp breaker, ran it to a junction box and splice it to where one hot, one nuetral, and one ground to 10 computer and the same to the other 10 computers. At the time I told him this would'nt be a safe application. I'm I right or wrong?
It would be a code violation to protect 15 or 20 amp duplex receptacles with a 30 amp breaker.

Take a look at 210.21(B)(3) sometime soon.

iwire

Staff member

For what it's worth if I had to feed 20 PC locations each with monitors I would be thinking of at least 5 circuits maybe more, but that's just a personal choice. :cool:

wpaul29