concrete bonding

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am a custom home builder that just built an 8000 sf barn with a concrete aisle. As a bonified farm, no permits were required except electrical. We poured over 3000 sf concrete with fiber mesh, no rebar and now they say we have to tear it all up and put in bonding. Is there any way around this? Maybe a ring or rods or something like that. PLEASE help as my electrician has no idea what to do and the head electrical inspector only says to tear the concrete up and redo with bonding mesh or rebar...There has to be some other way. Thanks in advance for any advice.

iwire

Staff member
Re: concrete bonding

I think your screwed.

547.10 requires an equipotential planes established in livestock areas.

2002 NEC, 2005 is much the same.

547.10 Equipotential Planes and Bonding of Equipotential Planes.

For the purposes of this section, the term livestock shall not include poultry.

(A) Areas Requiring Equipotential Planes. Equipotential planes shall be installed in all concrete floor confinement areas of livestock buildings that contain metallic equipment that is accessible to animals and likely to become energized. Outdoor confinement areas, such as feedlots, shall have equipotential planes installed around metallic equipment that is accessible to animals and likely to become energized. The equipotential plane shall encompass the area around the equipment where the animal stands while accessing the equipment.
The only ways out that I see are the following.

1)Never bring livestock in this building.

2)Remove all metallic equipment that is accessible to animals and likely to become energized.

3)Rip up the slab and install the equipotential plane.

Good luck, concrete with fiber mesh is not easily removed.

pierre

I have not seen the ASAE EP473-2001 standard for equipontial planes in animal containment areas, but Bob's suggestion sounds like something I would present to the inspector.