conduit sizing for cables

Status
Not open for further replies.
Gentlemen, I am an apprentice preparing to take my exam soon and was wondering if you can help me with a question . I am familar with going to table 8 for conductors of the same size and type amd going to table 5 for conductors of different size and type and then going to table 4 to size the conduit. What about multi-wire cables, where would I go to size the conduit?
Thanks.

LEO2854

Esteemed Member
Gentlemen, I am an apprentice preparing to take my exam soon and was wondering if you can help me with a question . I am familar with going to table 8 for conductors of the same size and type amd going to table 5 for conductors of different size and type and then going to table 4 to size the conduit. What about multi-wire cables, where would I go to size the conduit?
Thanks.

Look at the first page of Chapter 9.

(9) A multiconductor cable or flexible cord of two or more
conductors shall be treated as a single conductor for
calculating percentage conduit fill area. For cables that
have elliptical cross sections, the cross-sectional area
calculation shall be based on using the major diameter
of the ellipse as a circle diameter.

Thank you Leo, I see it. I made a mistake in my typing. For wires of the same size and type Annex C should be used. If you have a cable with say three conductors so you treat it as one conductor. One with say twelve conductors you treat it as one conductor. I understand the part about treating it as one conductor, but how do you determine the size of that one conductor, is there a special table for it?

LEO2854

Esteemed Member