Connecting ATS to elevator panel

Learn the NEC with Mike Holt now!

Talmadge

I'm an electrical contractor in Texas, I'm also the Master.

I'm hoping this is the appropriate topic to post this here. If not, my apologies to the moderator, I looked over the other topics and this one seemed the most related.

Without naming locations, my office is located 6 hours away from the location in question (Texas is big) and I don't service the area of the location. This job was a one-off because there were no able generator contractors in the area and I was an old friend of the head of maintenance (at the time) for this facility. He begged me to come help him.

In 2022 I installed a stand by generator at a resort. The resort was soon to be completely remodeled and the new generator was the first thing they wanted to get done. I replaced an existing standby generator that was not functioning. All of the existing wiring from the generator to the ATS and from the ATS to the emergency systems power bank was all NEC compliant and didn't need to be replaced or modified. All we did was remove the old generator, set the new one and wire it up the way it was. We shut down the entire facility at 3 am to test the emergency systems. The ATS took over and provided power to the emergency power panels as expected, the elevators ran as normal. We exercised all of the emergency systems that we could except for actually running the fire pumps (but the fire pump system had power). I programmed the generator to exercise itself once a week and verified that it was doing so with the staff maintenance manager for four weeks after the project was complete.