control wire

Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Afternoon, on low voltge control circuit Mr. Holt stated that the yellow control wire for compressor on A/C unit originates from thermostat, I am currently studying for my Electrical Journeyman license. I am however certified as a HVAC Technician,the yelow wire goes from thermostat to relay in Air Handler, from there it sends signal to compressor when T.S. calls for cooling. The graphic is incorrect and so is the explanation. The low voltage wire goes from T.S. to A/H and then to condenser,it activates compressor and condenser fan.:happysad: Than you

kwired

Electron manager
Good Afternoon, on low voltge control circuit Mr. Holt stated that the yellow control wire for compressor on A/C unit originates from thermostat, I am currently studying for my Electrical Journeyman license. I am however certified as a HVAC Technician,the yelow wire goes from thermostat to relay in Air Handler, from there it sends signal to compressor when T.S. calls for cooling. The graphic is incorrect and so is the explanation. The low voltage wire goes from T.S. to A/H and then to condenser,it activates compressor and condenser fan.:happysad: Than you

Can you post a link or copy of the material in question?

Often the "Y" conductor does physically run from thermostat to the air handler then to the AC unit, but it generally doesn't actually power anything in the air handler, there is just a terminal there for the convenience of splicing this conductor.

yellow wire

yellow wire