Demand Load on Motors (Sewing Machines)

Status
Not open for further replies.
Greetings Everyone,

My name in Bernardo and I work as a Development Engineer. I have a bunch of Sewing machines connected to Ceiling mounted Rails, and I have a bunch of questions on the things I am allowed to do (or not) based on code.
The power Rails are rated for 60 Amps at 300V. It is connected to a 220/110 three phase system. I have sewing machines that go up to 3.5 Amps @220V each.

1. Is it possible to connect more than 60 Amps of load? (I know that the sewing machines will not draw the 3.5 amps since they are provided with a clutch, nor the people sewing will use them at the same time)
2. What other options do I have on this matter?
3. What section of the code would help me on this matter?

P.S: I am an Electrical & Electronics Engineer, I would just like to keep the installation as compliant as possible with code, just need some seasoned person to give me a hint. Would really appreciate it!

MAC702

Good question. I question whether the code even applies to you, the end user, once it's all installed and operational. You may be permitted to use your installation to the best of your experienced abilities.

For example, the code will tell a designer/installer how many outlets must be provided and where, but doesn't tell a homeowner that they aren't allowed to plug a vacuum cleaner into all of them at the same time. Experience will teach them that.

Good question. I question whether the code even applies to you, the end user, once it's all installed and operational. You may be permitted to use your installation to the best of your experienced abilities.

For example, the code will tell a designer/installer how many outlets must be provided and where, but doesn't tell a homeowner that they aren't allowed to plug a vacuum cleaner into all of them at the same time. Experience will teach them that.