Do family and friends ask for free work ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

djohns6

I'm not an electrical contractor , I'm a technician for a power company .
Somehow that still makes me the " resident family electrician " . I don't mind hanging ceiling fans or troubleshooting the occasional appliance but sometimes things get out of hand . No , I don't want to wire your new house or rewire the knob and tube crap in your attic . I have a brother in law that is a carpenter and we help each other out , but neither of us takes advantage of the other .

Anybody else have this problem ?

frizbeedog

djohns6 said:
Anybody else have this problem ?

Not anymore. I put a stop to it as it began to eat into much of my free time. But I'm always there for ma and pa cause the free food is good. :smile:

Politely as I can I say no thank you to most.

This may be wrong to say but that is flesh and blood i do it all the time for mine if i have the time and don't take time from my wife. I know by doing that for them if i ever need them they will return the favor.

satcom

Texhunter7 said:
This may be wrong to say but that is flesh and blood i do it all the time for mine if i have the time and don't take time from my wife. I know by doing that for them if i ever need them they will return the favor.

I agree family is one thing, I don't do work for friends, good way to ruin a freindship. If you want to do work for a friend, then don't expect payment, just do it.

tyha

my family stopped asking when I always told them that i am a business man not an electrician. although I was in field for almost ten years before I started into management and then my own company.

chris kennedy

Occupation
60 yr old tool twisting electrician
satcom said:
If you want to do it so a friend then don't expect payment, just do it.

My friends have no problem paying for materials and permits. They are true friends. Fun to be around even if I'm working and always get fed.

djohns6