Does anyone have any experience with Eaton MVX 9000 VFD?

Status
Not open for further replies.

DavidA

This drive was set up to run an SEW motor that has a built in braking system. To get the brake to release I had to add a control relay to provide 230v of unmodified power to the brake. I was going to have this relay controlled by a digital output on the inverter labeled as DOC inverter run, but I couldn't find another terminal that would give me a difference in potential while the inverter was running. Does anyone have any experience with this drive and can you guide me to the solution? And yes, this is my first time having anything to do with a VFD.

David,

This is my first post on this forum so take this with a grain of salt. I downloaded the quick start PDF from Eaton, and I believe I can see your confusion. It appears to be a less than accurate translation. The PDF located at http://stubbylatheusa.com/manuals/MVX_TD4002003E_Feb06.pdf appears to be of better quality and accuracy. On page 5-28 there is a diagram of how the outputs should be connected. Note that the output you selected is a transistor output suitable for 24 volt DC only. The relay outputs R01 and R03 can be used with ac voltage or DC voltage. ( The terminal labeled R02 in the PDF is the common terminal.) On a quick glance I could not find a voltage or current rating for these outputs. Typically on most competitor's drives these would be rated somewhere around 240 volts at 1 amp. I would not connect the brake coil directly to any of these outputs, but use an interposing relay like you suggested earlier.

Of course you will have to select the proper parameter to apply to the output you have selected.

DavidA