does it matter which GE you go to first?

Status
Not open for further replies.

sheldon_ace

hey guys, i am a newbie here.

I recently had an inspector gig me on going to building steel first,(a pier column that was effectively grounded)which was bolted and welded together to the rest of the steel, with my full size GEC (1/0 for 500mcm service). About a 150 ft away was my incoming water main. I came off of the closest steel pier column to the water main with a full size GEC to the building side of the water, then bypassed the meter to the street side. From that same pier column I ran a #6 to two ground rods outside. The inspector said that the steel could not be used as a grounding conductor, and the GEC had to run unspliced to the water main first, which he called my "main grounding electrode". He couldn't give me an exact location in the code that could support his idea. Any input from professionals would be greatly appreciated. I have run into too many inspectors who really aren't qualified to do their jobs....

hey_poolboy

Re: does it matter which GE you go to first?

Welcome aboard!
I don't know of any reference as to an order in which they must be landed upon, just that they all must be used if available. 250.50.

250.53 C speaks of the bonding jumper(s) used to connect to the electrodes, but says nothing of the order.

Since you are actually maiking a system as described in 250.53 C it should not matter where in that system you make your connection.

Mike

[ July 18, 2005, 08:58 PM: Message edited by: hey_poolboy ]

physis

250.64(F) :)

Edit: There's no such thing as a "main grounding electrode". :D :D

Edit: He couldn't give "any" location in code because it's not a code.

[ July 18, 2005, 09:20 PM: Message edited by: physis ]

mc5w