Dry Contacts

Status
Not open for further replies.

mityeltu

I am a fairly new graduate and am now working in manufacturing. I am working on a project to interface my PIC project to the main plant. The PIC is, of course, running on 5vdc, and the plant is running a variety of voltages.

The PIC has its own supply, so this is not a problem, but the interface between the plant and the pic is going to require some relays to electricaly isolate the devices.

I keep hearing my boss mention dry contacts.

My research has produced 2 very similar definitions: 1)contacts that carry no current, 2) contacts that are not connected to a power supply.

Here's the question: what EXACTLY are dry contacts? I mean I know they are contacts on a relay, but are they in use but carrying no current? Or are they not in use at all and can therefore be used for ANY purposen (assuming proper ratings for the function)?

TxEngr

You pretty much have a grasp of the idea. A dry contact is a contact which has no internal power, e.g. it is isolated from the power system of the controlling device. It is necessary for you to provide the power to one side of the contact to power the device being controlled on the other. Dry contacts will have an amperage rating, often 10 A, which tells you the maximum current the device can carry and be expected to operate properly.

Outputs from a plc can be isolated, non-isolated, and dry contact. There is a difference in isolated and dry contact. The isolated outputs use external power to control the device, but are solid state switches. A Dry contact is not solid state but is a true contact closure.

mityeltu

Thank you for the reply and the boost to my confidence.

Are dry contacts rated differently from "standard" relay contacts? It seems to get fuzzier the more I think about it.

+24vdc ------- { coil 1 } ------- gnd

120vac -------- {contacts} ------------ { coil 2 } ------- adiitional 120vac load