Duct bank ampacity calculation

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hello,

My name is Jim and I am a rookie electrical engineer. One of my first assignments is to find out the ampacity of duct bank conductors, and I need some help from some more knowledgable and experienced people.

I am working on finding the solution to an ampacity calculation of conductors in a ductbank. Do I need to buy the duct bank calculator software to simulate the ductbank to achieve a credible solution? Are these ductbank calculators reliable?

For example, how much derating needs to be done in a ductbank of 18 or 40 conduits? Other than annex B, is there anything in the code that gives guidelines for engineering large ductbanks? Annex B is not very helpful in this case. It only gives values for ampacity up to 6 ducts.

My main question is: Do I need the ampacity calculation software to find a solution for the ampacity, and is it a reliable solution?

Thank you for any help you can provide.

Jim

bob

Re: Duct bank ampacity calculation

Jim
The caculations for cable ampacity in duct banks is too complex to be done by hand. There are several programs that will do the job for you.
There is nothing in the code that can help you. This is an engineering problem not covered by the code.
Maybe some of the guys can advise you of the best product to buy.

charlie b

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrical Engineer

Let's talk about the 18 duct system. If you can design the ductbank system so that you have three sets of 6 conduits, with each set of 6 conduits in its own concrete, and the three concrete banks separated from each other by, let us say, 5 feet edge-to-edge (the 5 feet is a guess, not a code requirement), then you can use the tables that apply to the voltage level of the distribution system. For example, 18 conduits in three sets of 6, 500 MCM THHN, each set arranged per Figure B.310.2 Detail 3, 90 RHO, then per Table B.310.7 each of the conductors is good for 273 amps.