dwelling unit calculation question

Status
Not open for further replies.
I am studying for my Washington administrator's test and have a few questions about load calcs I was hoping to get some help with:

1. If i am calculating the service size for, say, a 20 unit apartment building, regardless if I use the regular or alternate calc, do I calculate the load for a single unit and multiply by 20 or calculate it in one step as if the whole complex was one dwelling unit (and get to use the demand factors for multiple ranges, dryers, and appliances - if using the regular calc)?

2. I am going thru the examples in Annex D of the handbook which brought up another question. Regarding 430.24 (conductors that supply motors sized at 125%). When do I add in 25% of the largest motor load to a calc? For anything that has a motor? What about a dishwasher, thats got a motor and do I only do it once for the largest thing with a motor?

3. Finally, when doing a calculation for an industrial facility that has both continuous and non continuous loads, the final calculated load of course includes 125% of the continuous loads. What I am confused on is what is this value used for (the one with the 125%), sizing the OCPD or sizing the conductors, or both? It appears in this example I am working through they use the figure with the 125% to size the OCPD but then size the conductors without it. Is this correct, seems odd? Code reference?

Thanks I really appreciate the help.

david luchini

Staff member
Occupation
Engineer
I am studying for my Washington administrator's test and have a few questions about load calcs I was hoping to get some help with: