Electrical Trade

Status
Not open for further replies.

White Tiger

I am not sure exactly where to post this. I am a Truck Driver and have been for many years with an interest in becoming an Electrician but as with many people I cannot just quit my job and go to school as much as I would like to which leads me to my question. What would be the best study material that I could do at home on my own time? I have done some electrical work on our home on occasion but nothing major. I would appreciate any suggestions from professionals of the trade as to books that would point me in the right direction or what steps I could take in possibly achieving this goal. Any and all suggestions will be greatly appreciated from the professionals.I enjoy Mike Holts :)Forum very much.Thanks to everyone taking the time to answer my post.Have a Merry Christmas!

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
If I could do it again I would be an HVAC service tech.

Not me, if I had it to do over again I would still be an electrician, I have enjoyed this trade from early on in my career. I think I would have liked to have had more formal training at the engineering level though.

As far as training material, check into Mike Holt's beginner sets, there are others as well such as Tom Henery, James Stallcup, others, and probably some local vocational schools.

Roger

Last edited:

buddhakii

The problem is if you really do want to get into the trade you will eventually have to quit your job and work as an apprentice with a greatly reduced wage. Around here a lot of places you work at as an apprentice will pay for at least a portion of your school though. And from what I can tell from my apprentices is it doesn't eat up too much of their own time. Good luck in your venture if you do decide to make the move.

George Stolz

Staff member
Occupation
Service Manager