Emergnecy Generators

Status
Not open for further replies.

bradleyh

We installed a 250kw Emergency Generator at a 6 story Hotel. The inspector said that the exhaust opening needs to be at least 10 feet from the nearest openable door or window. We are currently at 8 feet from the outside edge of the nearest openable window. Is it an actual code requirement and if so where could it be found and how does it specifically read?

We get that all the time (we are in south florida) However, all the codes they quote us seem to have nothing to do with exhuast enter the building more so with air leaving the building. I am by no means a mechanical expert but I would shoot for using NFPA 37 4.1.4 (02 ed), 5' from a building opening.

HighWirey

ykee said:
Does it really matter what the code says if your local AHJ has told you he wants 10'?

Was your firm responsible for the complete install, or just the electrical part? If you are responsible for the complete install, did you not submit shop drawings showing all those 'devils details' for approval, prior to proceeding with construction. Asking for actual code requirements at this time sounds like it is too late.

There used to be a song in bygone days "What Lola wants, Lola gets". Here Lola = the AHJ. I'll bet Lola likes 10 feet better than 8 feet . . .

Best Wishes Everyone

roger

Staff member
Occupation
Retired Electrician
ykee said:
Does it really matter what the code says if your local AHJ has told you he wants 10'?

Yes it matters, an Inspector can not make up his own rules.

Roger

LarryFine

Master Electrician Electric Contractor Richmond VA
Occupation
Electrical Contractor
ykee said:
You're new around these-here parts, ain't ya? :smile:

If he's correct, of course, he's correct. But we don't "obey" inspectors, we amicably (hopefully) arrive at the proper interpretation and implementation of actual code requirements.