Exposed wire connections in potentially wet location

Status
Not open for further replies.

KasseemF

As a new inspector I have a question.

I have come across a plunge pool installation where all electrical connections are made in a small area immediately next to and below the pool.

I had concerns in this area since there were lighting fixtures whose pigtails were connected just via wirenut and left exposed in this area which is damp and could potentially get wet.

I am aware that the Code speaks that dry-niche fixtures do not require a junction box but what about this wet location and aren't all splices to be done in a junction box?

the electricians argument is that;

1. That is a 12v light circuit

2. The light fixture has a 6inch lead to which the transformer is connected by wire nuts that came with the light fixture

3. The light fixture has no means to connect a conduit

What does the code say about this? Is this an allowable installation?

mcclary's electrical

As a new inspector I have a question.

I have come across a plunge pool installation where all electrical connections are made in a small area immediately next to and below the pool.

I had concerns in this area since there were lighting fixtures whose pigtails were connected just via wirenut and left exposed in this area which is damp and could potentially get wet.

I am aware that the Code speaks that dry-niche fixtures do not require a junction box but what about this wet location and aren't all splices to be done in a junction box?

the electricians argument is that;

1. That is a 12v light circuit

2. The light fixture has a 6inch lead to which the transformer is connected by wire nuts that came with the light fixture

3. The light fixture has no means to connect a conduit

What does the code say about this? Is this an allowable installation?

The installation sounds compliant to me since it's 12 volt.

KasseemF

Clarification

Clarification